Rusticles by Rebecca Gransden. Review 

I was first introduced to Rebecca when I read her novel Anemogram in exchange for an honest review, find that here: https://lifehasafunnywayofsneakinguponyou.wordpress.com/2016/09/12/anemogram-review/ and I also had the pleasure of interviewing her, https://lifehasafunnywayofsneakinguponyou.wordpress.com/2017/05/17/may-interview-rebecca-gransden/

Rebecca has such an unusual and beautiful way of writing of which I have never seen the like, the only author I can possibly compare her to is Peter S Beagle, which I have said before. Take the opening sentence of the first story in the collection that is Rusticles ‘Out of the blue and into the black neon night, along a street made of pulse shaking off its dreams.’ Rebecca writes stories that read like poetry. Simply incredible. She writes the way I dream I could write if only my pen would obey my mind, and she writes like she’s painting a picture. 


Rusticles is a gorgeous collection of short stories which continue the magic Rebecca created with Anemogram you can never really be sure what each story is about but only that it touches the fringes of your mind somewhere. Mostly I just sink into the pleasure of reading such phantasmagorical prose. 


I can honestly say that I never understood the term ‘weird and wonderful’ fully until I read Rebecca Gransden. 

Leave a comment

Feed The Crime

Making my way through crime fiction, one book at a time

The Bibliofile

Book Reviews, Books, Bestsellers, Literary Fiction

FancyNancyReads

About authors and there books. Leave reviews or updates on new releases!

Bookaholic Brittany

Happily addicted to all the Bookish things

The book prescription

Primum non nocere

Stephen Writes

Book reviews, and original bookish content

The Mum Who Read

Book Reviews and Recommendations

I Won't Say I'm In Love With Reading

Reading Is An Adventure With No End

Books Baking and Blogging

Recipes, reviews, and more

Book Princess Reviews

Reviewing YA and MG Fiction since 2016.

LauReads

Book reviewer & blogger of bookish things!

Mamma's Budget Baking

Budget Baking For Beginners

Noodle Reads

Usually found in a corner, hiding behind a book

LAUREGALIE

BOOK REVIEWS