Two Dark Reigns by Kendare Blake. Review

Thank you to Netgalley, Kendare Blake and Pan MacMillan for my ARC of Two Dark Reigns.

Well, Kendare Blake sure brought the fire with this one. Oh. My. Goodness. I thoroughly enjoyed the first two books in this series but this one just blew them both out of the water, I don’t think I could possibly wait until 2019 to return to Fennbirn. Luckily, Kendare has brought our 2 short stories which are now happily on their way to my house.

So, as always with a sequel here is my warning. There will be no spoilers for this book but there may be spoilers for the first two books where necessary to the story.

Arsinoe and Mirabella are trying their best at life as exiled queens on the mainland. But although Billy is making them as comfortable as he can, his mother and sister are less accepting. Not to mention that Arsinoe in particular feels she will never fit in outside of the island. Meanwhile Katherine is struggling on the throne when her people still see her as an ‘undead’ queen and nobody other than her loving Pietyr seem to want anything to do with her.

This book was far more intricate than the previous two. While the first two were fantastic books in their own right, the world building went so much further in Two Dark Reigns and the reader gets to know a lot more about the island’s past and how it has come to affect the future. It’s also tons more creepy and sinister than the first two and I was holding my breathe at points, unsure what was going to happen next.

This series has been completely absorbing to me but even more so now. I’m absolutely desperate to see where this story is going to go and what will happen next. I genuinely feel that just like allegiances change in the books, my allegiances change too. I can literally close one book certain on which characters I love and hate, pick up the next one and have it all turned on it’s head. It’s delicious. On that note I also feel like there’s a level of anticipation on where allegiance’s lie in the story too. From three sisters who love one another, to two who align but hate the other, to all that being flipped over and changed again now. I need the next book already!!!

Leave a comment

Feed The Crime

Making my way through crime fiction, one book at a time

The Bibliofile

Book Reviews, Books, Bestsellers, Literary Fiction

FancyNancyReads

About authors and there books. Leave reviews or updates on new releases!

Bookaholic Brittany

Happily addicted to all the Bookish things

The book prescription

Primum non nocere

Stephen Writes

Book reviews, and original bookish content

The Mum Who Read

Book Reviews and Recommendations

One More Word

Jules_Writes

I Won't Say I'm In Love With Reading

Reading Is An Adventure With No End

Books Baking and Blogging

Recipes, reviews, and more

Book Princess Reviews

Reviewing YA and MG Fiction since 2016.

LauReads

Book reviewer & blogger of bookish things!

Mamma's Budget Baking

Budget Baking For Beginners

Noodle Reads

Usually found in a corner, hiding behind a book