Stillhouse Lake by Rachel Caine. Review. 

Is there anything this lady can’t write about??? She is literally a powerhouse of enviable literary talent! 

Thank you to Netgalley, the publisher and Rachel Caine for my ARC of this novel in exchange for an honest review. 

I first heard of Rachel Caine when I started reading her Great Library series. So when I had the option to wish for a copy of Stillhouse Lake I figured I’d give it a try even though the genre was completely different. I loved it! I actually think I loved it even more than I did The Great Library series and I love that series! 

Anyway, enough of me gushing. So Stillhouse Lake, it’s a psychological thriller and definitely an adult read. Gina Royal is the perfect all American housewife. 2.5 kids and a picket fence is that what people say? Anyways, she’s happy in her life with her two children and her husband the caring, loving Mel. 


Until her life is destroyed when she discovers that Mel has been masking a secret life as a sadistic serial killer. With Mel now in jail Gina has to form a new life and a new identity for herself and her children to protect them from the backlash and the internet trolls who still believe Gina must have had something to do with it. But it seems like the past is just too hard to run away from. 


Stillhouse Lake is gripping from start to finish, as some of you may already know I try not to read synopsises before reading the novel so it’s more full of surprises! I’m glad I didn’t with this one as every little event was a huge shock for me. Gina, or Gwen as she is with her new identity is an amazing woman who’s gone from a weak willed wife to a warrior mum and she kicks ass! I loved the twists and turns and the ending blew me away, I hope I don’t have long to wait for part 2! 

Leave a Reply

