The I Dare You Book Tag 

Today I am going to be doing my very first blog based book tag! Which is really strange as I’m used to filming them so I’m unsure how different this is going to be! But I’m sure it will be just as much fun to write and read as it would be to film and watch… 

I was tagged by the amazing girls over at Game of Tomes on YouTube; Jessica and Christeena. You can check out their channel which always features the very best booktags along with their unique Booktube style here: https://m.youtube.com/channel/UCvP9FmVGXk6WZT39rfv4_9A

The OP of this tag from what I can see is: https://bookfandom1001.wordpress.com/

So first off we have a set of rules followed by 19 questions: 

                              The Rules 

  • You must be honest 
  • You can’t not answer a question 
  • You have to tag at least four people 

So without further ado… drumroll please… 


Question 1 – Which book has been on your shelves the longest..? 

I’m unsure if this means the longest as in how long I’ve owned it or the longest as in the one I’ve left unread the longest. So I’ll answer for both. The oldest book I have is my dog eared copy of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by JK Rowling which like Jessica’s over at Book of Tomes, is falling apart! The book I’ve had on my shelves longest which I am yet to actually read is Wayfaring Stranger by James Lee Burke and it hasn’t actually been on there that long as I tend to read whatever I buy really quickly. The stuff on my kindle however some of that has been on there a shamefully long time 🙈 


2. What is your current read, your last read and the book you’ll read next? 

My current read is The Marriage Pact by Michelle Richmond. 

My last read was Select by Marit Weisenberg. 

And my next read will be Minority Report by Philip K Dick. 


3. What book did everyone like but you hated? 

I wouldn’t go as far as to say that ‘everyone liked’ this book but it does have nearly 4 stars on Goodreads. Neither would I say I hated it but it was rather poor. That would be Ragdoll by Daniel Cole. 


4. What book do you keep telling yourself you’ll read but probably won’t? 

I don’t really find that I have this issue because I tend to want to read absolutely everything on my TBR and I’m steadily working down that list. However if I had to choose it would be a series rather than a book and that is the Jessica Daniels series by Kerry Wilkinson. My grandma loves them and we usually like the same books, I didn’t get on with the first one but she keeps assuring me they get better so I added them to my TBR in the hope it would give me enthusiasm to read the rest of the series. So far it hasn’t worked. 


5. Which books are you saving for retirement? 

Absolutely none! Life is too short and I’m trying to read as much as I can every year! If anything retirement would be the time to re-read all my old favourites once I’ve got down my tbr! Though it will probably take me until retirement to get down it! 


6. Last page, read it, or wait until the end? 

I’ll always say wait until the end of course, there’s no fun in knowing what happens! Although, occasionally when I want to check how many pages are in a book I’ll inadvertently read the last sentence or two! 


7. Acknowledgements, waste of paper and ink or an interesting aside? 

I can’t say I’m that fussed on reading the acknowledgements in a book but having being acknowledged in a book myself I think it’s a really precious thing to do and really only relevant to those who are acknowledged! 

8. Which book character would you swap places with? 

Clary Fray, because Jace. I don’t feel I need to say anything more about that! 


9. Do you have a book which reminds you of something specific in your life (a person, a place, a time)? 

I would have to say Folly by Alan Titchmarsh which always makes me feel Christmassy! It’s just the cover really that gets me in the festive mood every time. 


10. Name a book you acquired in an interesting way. 

I get a lot of interestingly acquired books because publishers send them to me and I get different subscription boxes so I’m going to go with the most recent which came in a subscription box (not saying which because spoilers!) and that is Roar By Cora Carmack. 


11. Have you ever given away a book for a special reason to a special person? 

I give books as gifts and loan some of mine out but The only one I can think of which was particularly special was Vivienne Westwood’s biography to my best friend who loves her designs. 

12. Which book has been to the most places with you? 

Probably Sepulchre by Kate Mosse it’s moved to all my different homes over the past 8 years and I originally picked it up from the hotel library in Zante in 2009 so it’s been abroad with me too! 


13. Any required reading you hated in High School that wasn’t so bad  years later? 

The Yellow Wallpaper by Charlotte Perkins Gilman. I thought it was so weird the first time round but I understand it better now. 


14. What is the strangest item you’ve found in a book? 

A postcard which had been addressed and written on! 

15. Used or brand new? 

I don’t mind really. I love brand new books as much as the next person but I’m not adverse to buying second hand and 50% of the books I buy each month are used. 


16. Have you ever read a Dan Brown Book? 

Yes I’ve read them all and really like them, here’s my collection! 


17. Have you ever seen a movie you liked more than the book? 

My initial answer to this would have been no but then I watched Game of Tomes and have to agree that it would be The Help by Kathryn Stockett 

18. A book that should have never been published? 

I literally can’t name one! 

19. Have you ever read a book that’s made you hungry? 

The Children of Cherry Tree Farm by Enid Blyton their picnics always sound amazing! 


Now for my four tags! I tag: 

1. Becky at Uptown Oracle http://www.uptownoracle.com/

2. Sarah at The Critiquing Chemist https://critiquingchemist.com/

3. Erik at The Past Due Book Review https://thepastduebookreview.com/

4. Shannon at Captivated by Fantasy https://shannonpaigewaters.com/

5 thoughts on “The I Dare You Book Tag ”

  1. Oh my gosh! We completely skipped two questions!! You’ve been acknowledged in a book?! Details!! This was really cool to read. I really enjoyed it and love that you included the photos of your books. Did you enjoy Deception Point by Dan Brown? Thinking of picking it up with Jess or do you have a Dan Brown recommendation to start on? I haven’t read any of his at all and think I’d like to.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I didn’t even realise that! I just copied them from another blog 🙈 yes! It’s not a famous one but it’s a book called Entanglement of Revenge by an author called Chris Brookes and I did some test reading for him so he acknowledged me which was really sweet 🙂 I think you’d both really like Dan Brown’s books, they’re all really good but I’d probably say start with Deception Point or Digital Fortress rather than committing to the series to get a feel for if you like his writing or not. Hope that helps! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

