Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare. Review. 

I’m sure I’m not the only one who finished reading Lord of Shadows and screamed with frustration that I’ve got to wait another 2 years for the last book in this series? 

I’ve been dragged head first back into the world of Shadowhunters, I’ve fought beside them, strapped on gear and felt the love for each and every one of them tear me apart. I was certain that this series wouldn’t touch me in the same way as TMI and TID but it has. Oh it has. 

Before you read any further I should advise that although this review with be spoiler free, there will be spoilers from the first book Lady Midnight there has to be otherwise I can’t discuss it at all. So if you haven’t read Lady Midnight you should wait before reading this review, although you can read my review of LM here: https://lifehasafunnywayofsneakinguponyou.wordpress.com/2017/06/07/lady-midnight-by-cassandra-clare-review/ 


I enjoyed Lady Midnight don’t get me wrong, but it feels now that it was just Cassandra Clare wetting her lips before she truly brought back the tragedy and destruction of the Shadowhunter lives in Lord of Shadows. 

We pick up where we left off in Lady Midnight. Emma, Julian and co are getting their lives back together after Emma killed the corrupt and murdering warlock Malcolm Fade, now they’ve got a host of sea demons to contend with. Emma is still pretending to date Mark to prevent her and Jules’ love from becoming the fearsome curse of parabatai love. 


This novel is very action packed, there’s a lot of moments where you just can’t put it down because you need to know what happens. I love the relationships which are developing between some of the characters particularly Emma and Jules but there’s also some other more surprising ones. Plus we get to finally find out Diana’s secret and there’s lots of Magnus and Alec in this one which of course just adds to the amazingness. Because who doesn’t want more Malec? 


What I am beginning to think though is that at this rate Cassandra Clare is going to give George RR Martin a run for his money at killing the ones we love and destroying us in the process. I’m currently on holiday and sobbing uncontrollably on a sunbed because of a fictional character is not dignified. 

On a serious note though, I don’t think I will ever, ever, ever, get enough of the  Shadowhunters and Cassandra if you’re reading this and could write The Queen of Air and Darkness any quicker it would be much appreciated! 

Leave a Reply

