Reading Challenge 2017 – Week 9 

Challenge: A Book Which was Made into a Movie. 

I remember well, the shiny, silver, holographic copy of Molly Moon’s Incredible Book of Hypnotism which sat on my shelves a teenager alongside its equally shiny, gold, holographic sequel. 

It’s not the most obvious choice for a book which was made into a movie, mainly because the movie seems to have been a flop. I’ve never heard anyone rave about it, don’t recall it being on at the cinema and only recently heard of it myself. But it’s for its obscurity that I chose it to be this week’s reading Challenge. 

Molly Moon’s Incredible Book of Hypnotism by Georgia Byng follows the main character; yes, you’ve guessed it! Molly Moon; an orphan who lives in an orphanage called Hardwick House in Briersville, England. She’s generally an underdog character, with only one friend. When she has a fall out with said friend one day, she runs off to the town library where she steals a book about Hypnotism. 


Eventually, Molly begins to learn herself Hypnotism from the book and of course she takes full advantage by hypnotising everyone and everything, even the orphanage’s angry little pug dog Petula. 


It’s a really cool which I really enjoyed and now that I’ve thought about it again and refreshed my memory I think I’ll be looking up getting a copy and reading it again. I’ve also got to give the movie a try! But before you see the movie, think about reading the book! 

Leave a Reply

