The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams. Review 

The first thing I have to say about this book is that is is hilarious! Like really the funniest book I’ve read in ages. For example; “Whats so bad about being drunk?” “Go ask a glass of water” is probably the best thing I’ve ever read. I laughed for much longer than was really necessary and repeated it to everyone I saw or spoke to that day. 


Arthur’s life is turned upside down when aliens called Vogons turn up on Earth to destroy it in order to make way for a new galactic bypass. The irony is, that just that morning Arthur was protesting to the local council who wanted to demolish his house to make way for a new bypass in his town. 

Thanks to his friend Ford Prefect who is really an alien conducting research for the intergalactic travel guide The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy, Arthur finds himself on board the Vogen’s space ship as a hitchhiker himself and there’s lots of adventures in store. 


Arthur is mostly on a quest for tea and there are many amazingly amusing characters and escapades in store. I think one of my favourites has to be Marvin the depressed robot. 


I’ll definitely be picking up the next instalment of this series from my local library soon, one of the best books I’ve read in a long time, I can’t recommend it enough. 

Leave a Reply

