The Ask and the Answer by Patrick Ness. Review 

The second novel in The Chaos Walking series; The Ask and the Answer was I must admit a bit of a disappointment. I’d seen lots of reviews about this series which advised that the rest of the series was better than the first one; The Knife of Never Letting Go. But the thing is, I loved The Knife of Never Letting Go, I didn’t love The Ask and the Answer. 


Where The Knife of Never Letting Go was a bubble of emotion; love being the strongest of them whether it was the love of family between Todd, Ben and Cillian. Romantic love between Todd and Viola and especially the love between Todd and Manchee (yes I’m still crying). 


The Ask and the Answer just didn’t have any of that. The characters seemed flatter, there was none of the intensity or feeling dragging me in to the story line and it actually took me much longer to read than The Knife of Never Letting Go. 


The Ask and the Answer very much reminded me of Catching Fire the middle story of the Hunger Games series. It’s for this reason that I will go on to read the final book in the series Monsters of Men because I’m hoping that this book was only such a disappointment because it was a filler novel between the exciting beginning and the happy ending.

Leave a Reply

