The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness. Review 

I’m still reeling! I must admit I wasn’t sure about this book when I first started it. It’s the first one I’ve read by Patrick Ness, and the slightly strange way of talking that the main character; Todd has made me think I might not like it. But it grew on me pretty fast and by the middle I was racing through the pages. 


The premise of The Knife of Never Letting Go is that finding what (I presume is) our current world is corrupt and evil so god fearing folk have travelled to a new world where they plan to go back to basics and live clean, good lives. But it doesn’t exactly go to plan. 

As the only ‘boy’ in his village Todd has grown up believing one thing only to find out that it isn’t in fact exactly true. 

It’s a book about self discovery, love, friendship and understanding. And let me tell you one thing it’s heartbreaking in fact no, not heartbreaking it’s goddam heart wrenching! 


Although it has pretty much destroyed me, there’s no denying that this is an amazing YA novel. It has all the ingredients to make it into a fantastic series and I can’t wait to get started on the second book. 

Leave a Reply

