Goldenhand by Garth Nix. Review 

I was really excited to see that this book had been published. Like many others I love The Old Kingdom trilogy in my teens, they were my favourite books (look out for my feature later this year), and I longed for the series to continue. When I stumbled upon Clariel in my local library 2 years ago I was even more thrilled. But Clariel Is a prequel whereas Goldenhand is a continuation of the original trilogy making it extra exciting. 
My return to The Old Kingdom was everything I’d hoped it would be. 


Lirael and Sabriel are now working in partnership, with Lirael having the title of Abhorsen-in-Waiting. Sabriel and Touchstone are taking a well earned holiday so it’s left to Lirael to attend to a free magic creature let loose in Ancelstierre and trailing her old acquaintance Nick Sayre. But it turns out that’s the least of their worries, because in the wild north, among the Nomads, something far more dangerous is amassing an army. 

The best thing about Goldenhand in my opinion was the revisit to The Old Kingdom. To be immersed in that world all over again. To see favourite characters returning, even cameo appearances from the likes of Mogget and the Disreputable Dog. It made me fall in love with the series all over again. 

There are many who were disappointed that the story didn’t feature Sabriel as much as they would have liked, however, I personally feel that it is Lirael’s story to tell now, Sabriel is a mother and a Queen as well as Abhorsen and with no disrespect I feel her the story wouldn’t have had as much to give from her perspective. Lirael is young, still learning about life, herself and her own feelings as much as about what it is to be an Abhorsen, and at the end of the day what is an novel without a character’s personal journey of self-discovery? 

The only way Garth Nix could ever disappoint me is by saying this is the last Novel in The Old Kingdom series. I need more! Like yesterday! 

Leave a Reply

