The Devil’s Prayer by Luke Gracias. Review 

I decided to try this book as I’m a lover of anything that involves religious conspiracy, sects, mystery and modern interpretation of the religion of centuries ago. I like the psychology of religion and this book peaked my interest when I read about the idea of a ‘Devil’s bible’ and ‘Devil’s Prayer.’ 
It wasn’t however at all what I expected. The book follows the story of Siobhan who’s mother left several years before without a word and was never found. As the story unfolds Siobhan begins to learn more about her mother’s history and what drove her to leave her own mother, and two young daughters behind in Brisbane. 

It is an interesting story but I can’t say much more about the plot without giving immense spoilers. The quality of writing was good if overworked in some places at the beginning, this did improve as the book developed. 

The plot was interesting and despite the large amount of historical fact and the flicks between past and present; I found it easy to follow and it held my attention. The imagery is beautiful and I found myself googling lots of the places to see if they matched the pictures created in my head as well as doing some further research on some of the historical characters featured in the novel. I then discovered Luke’s website http://www.thedevilsprayer.com.au which has photos Luke actually took himself when visiting the locations used in the novel. 

The book led to a huge cliffhanger which I initially found to be slightly disappointing, almost an anti climax. However, having contacted Luke and discovering that he is currently working on the sequel my feelings on the ending have changed dramatically. Now I feel excited for the sequel and to find out what happens next! 

There’s a little bit for everyone in this novel with a crime/thriller element running alongside religion, mystery, a horror of sorts and human error. It’s the kind of novel which makes you question what you would do if you were in Denise’s shoes. How far would you go to make a good life for your child? 

Unpredictable and full of suspense it’s definitely worth a read! 

Leave a Reply

