Author Interview – Kathryn Croft

Welcome to my first monthly author interview. I’m really honoured to be welcoming Kathryn Croft author of five amazing thriller novels including the gripping While You Were Sleeping published by Bookouture on 16th November 2016.

I recently featured a review of Kathryn’s book on my site which can be found here: http://www.lifehasafunnyway.com/while-you-were-sleeping-by-kathryn-croft-review/

I caught up with Kathryn following the publication of While You Were Sleeping an understandably exciting time:

 

So, Kathryn, what was your background and how did you get into writing?

I have always loved writing and knew that one day I would have to write a novel. But I made several attempts before actually completing one. It was only after teaching secondary school English for six years that I knew I had to take the plunge and follow my dream.

 

What are your ambitions for your writing?

I’ve been so lucky to have achieved more than I could have imagined already but I would absolutely love to secure a film deal for any one of my books.

 

Which Writers inspire you?

Nikki French and Sophie Hannah were my early inspirations when I first started out. They are truly fantastic writers and storytellers.

 

How much research went into writing While You Were Sleeping?

As I know very little about police procedure, I researched what I would need to know about the crime and how it would be investigated.

 

What are you working on at the moment?

I’m currently planning book 6 but its at the very early stages at the moment.

 

Which of your books did you enjoy writing the most?

I have loved writing all of my books but While You Were Sleeping really flowed for me. I also have a soft spot for The Stranger Within.

 

What do you use to do your writing?

I write notes by hand when I’m planning then type on the computer.

 

Would you ever write something outside of the thriller genre?

I wish I had the talent to write different genres but I’ll just have to leave that to the experts like Angela Marsons and Mel Sharratt!

 

How often do you write? Do you set yourself a word target or just go with it when inspiration strikes?

I usually write 1000 words every day, but actually for While You Were Sleeping I wrote 2000 words a day!

 

What sort of publishing route did you choose and why?

When I first started out, my goal was to secure a traditional publishing deal but things don’t always go exactly to plan. I managed to find my agent quickly but we couldn’t get a deal for my first novel, so we self-published on Amazon and did the same for the second book. It was only book 3 which got an amazing book deal with Bookouture. However, I really enjoyed self-publishing and I’m glad I had that experience.

 

How do you market your books? What have been your marketing successes and failures?

Marketing is not my strong point but thankfully my publishers are skilled at this and they have an amazing publicity expert, Kim Nash, and she does a wonderful job of getting my books out there. I do try to stay active on social media though, which is essential.

 

If you could be the original author of any book what would it have been and why?

The Handmaiden’s Tale by Margaret Atwood. It’s one of my favourite books, and funnily enough it isn’t a thriller!

 

What are your views on good and bad reviews? How much do you think the success of books relies on reviews?

 

I am extremely grateful to anyone who takes the time to write a review if they enjoyed my books. Everyone has the right to their opinion and not everybody will like every book, but I do think reviews never need to get personal!

 

If you’d like to hear more from Kathryn you can check out the following:

 

http://www.kathryncroft.com

follow @katcroft on Twitter

visit authorkathryncroft on Facebook

search Kathryn Croft on Goodreads

check out her amazon authors page Kathryn Croft

 

Thank you so much to Kathryn for taking the time to answer my questions and permitting me to post our interview on my blog. If you want to be featured as next month’s author of the month then please get in touch via my contact me page or on twitter @lifehasafunnywy or facebook Life Has a Funny Way.

 

You can also currently snap up the ebook of While You Were Sleeping for 99p on Amazon so get it while you can!

 

One thought on “Author Interview – Kathryn Croft”

Leave a Reply

