The Gingerbread Collection Review

I was contacted a little while ago by the author of this short story collection: The Gingerbread Collection’through my website asking if I’d mind doing a review piece on it. Of course I was absolutely delighted and agreed immediately. So first of all I’d like to say thank you to Victor A Davies for giving me the opportunity to read his stories in exchange for an honest review.

 

Now, I haven’t read many short story collections. I was introduced to them initially when I started reading Dubliners as part of my Literature module at university. I then tacked George RR Martin (editor)’s collection Rogues and went on to read a few more collections including a lot of short stories by Karin Slaughter and some by Cecelia Ahern and Milly Johnson. It’s definitely broadened my horizons in terms of what is expected of a short story which has helped me immensely with my creative writing modules of my degree.

 

Anyway back to The Gingerbread Collection. What is most evident in this collection is the authors ability to take any idea or genre and turn it into a story. From simple exchanges in everyday life which expose emotions and thoughts beyond the nature of the story and give you food for thought yourself to horror, suspense and science fiction he’s nailed it. There was not one story I didn’t enjoy. My particular favourites however were ‘The Night at the Lake’, ‘Shiva’ and ‘Gingerbread’. There are many references to mythology as well as literature particularly HG Wells in the science fiction story which I thought were great touches and showed some of the authors influences.

 

Not only did the stories engage the readers interest but they also explored places and old stories which one may not have thought about before. Each story left you with a thought about what might happen next allowing you to draw your own conclusions but also leaving you with a sense of loss at the end with no satisfaction gained on what might have happened. This is a talent shared with writers like James Joyce and really, for me, shows that this author has nailed the short story process completely.

 

I really look forward to hearing more from this author in the future. One to watch!!

Leave a Reply

