The 9:45 to Bletchley

As my regular readers will know, The 9:45 to Bletchley isn’t my ‘usual’ read. Although I’ll read pretty much anything which is put in my hand I do have a tendency to lean more towards reading crime/thriller or fantasy/YA. So my reasons for requesting this ARC was a weird one. Basically I did what no reader should do and ‘judged a book by its cover.’ My reason for this is because The 9:45 to Bletchley has a photograph on the front cover which also resides in a frame in my dining room. It is a photo of a young woman in wartime style walking through a train station and turning slightly over her shoulder to look at a policeman stood on the station platform. This is of course the perfect cover for a story filled with wartime espionage, the official secrets act, code and suspicious train rides. It sparked my fancy though because when my mum first bought me the picture a few years ago she said that it had drawn her attention because it looked like the woman had a story. A story I could perhaps write. Although I’ve mulled over the woman many times and wondered about her, historical fiction just isn’t really my thing. So the woman’s story remained untold. Until now.

The story was a bit simple for my usual taste, think Sally Warboyes or Joan Jonker the minuite of other people’s lives from Ena (the main character)’s mother dishing up stew to Ena taking off each item of clothing and hanging them neatly to avoid creases. This is not a criticism however as I know it is particular to this genre and helps to character build. The story was intriguing and I did find myself racing towards the end to find out who the German Spies were. It was predicatable in parts and about halfway in i’d figured it out, however that just added to the general appeal of a simple, easy-read for a Friday afternoon. I found someparts of it a little unbelievable in terms of say how Ena acted towards the end, however I’ll not say anymore as to reveal spoilers!

Generally The 9:45 to Bletchley is a strong example of it’s genre and having found out that this was in fact book 4 in the series I wouldn’t mind reading the others about Ena’s sisters. I will say that it is a book which can be read as a standalone without trouble.

An easy 4* read.

2 thoughts on “The 9:45 to Bletchley”

  1. Thank you for the lovely review Leonie. Yes, the character of Ena, her life at home and her work, is brought out. The background is set so the reader doesn’t have to read the other novels to understand the life and times of WW2 and how it affected Ena and her family. It also has to do with the kind of family they are. In a family of four sisters, Ena’s character, in her own story, could not be ignored. Ena, like her sisters, Bess, Foxden Acres, Margot, Applause, and Claire, China Blue, is introduced in the first novel, Foxden Acres. Each novel is part of the saga, but each novel can be read on its own, which is why there is background information. Thank you for the lovely review. If you liked Ena’s story, you may like Claire’s story. China Blue is set in France with the SOE and French Resistance. Again, thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review. I really appreciate it. xx

    Like

    1. No problem at all Madalyn, it is a lovely story and I really enjoyed it so I hope that came across in my review! I’ll definitely be adding the other stories in the saga to my to-read list on goodreads! It’s very interesting to read about women’s lives during WW2 as well as its not often their stories are told 🙂 xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

