Colour B4 From Black to Red in 5 Days

For some time now I have been dyeing my natural brown hair a bright orange colour. Of course this meant I had to bleach it all the time and as time went on my hair was getting in pretty bad condition, but I loved the colour so continued to do it. 4 weeks ago I went to the hairdressers and she advised that if I carried on dyeing it that colour I would have to have it all cut really short. As its taken around 4 years to get my hair to just below shoulder length I obviously didn’t want that to happen. So I resolved to dye it a darker colour. I used to have my hair black for years and everyone always said how much it suited me, so I decided to go back to that colour. What a mistake.

In the end I decided to use a colour b4, I had used one in the past which had taken my hair to an orangey brown due to years of dyeing. Therefore I wasnt expecting much, just to lighten it enough to get it back to a lighter colour to dye it a deep red. I was really impressed however with the results. I applied the colour b4 which yes is a bit stinky but can be coped with, I wrapped a plastic bag around my head and kept the heat in as advised for 60 minutes. The rinsing process is admittedly a pain but necessary (you will understand why shortly). The rinsing process says 10 minutes, then apply the buffer and rinse for a further 5 then apply the buffer again and rinse normally. After 5 minutes of rinsing in the shower I was getting bored and my skin was getting dry so I skipped most of the process applied the buffer and washed it straight off. My hair as pictured below had gone a wonderful soft blonde colour and I actually thought I might keep it that colour. The next morning however if you take a look at the next picture it had gone significantly darker and was much more like my natural medium brown.

I have (as you may guess from the instructions) an impatient streak so I also ignored the colour b4 instructions to leave it a week before applying a permanent dye. Instead the very next day I applied a loreal feria hot chilli red, (pictured below). The results were mostly black hair with red streaks also pictured below which was worse than what I started with! Absolutely traumatised I demanded my dad take me to tesco where I purchased another colour b4 and a garnier Olia in Vibrant red. This time I followed the colour b4 instructions to the book and rinsed and buffered my hair properly. I did however disobey the rules and applied the permanent hair colour. (NB: Garnier Olia does not include Ammonia in its ingredients I think this was the key to the hair not going dark this time). The colour took but was patchy in places as pictured below.

Finally the following day I purchased a Garnier Nutrisse Intense Copper red (they didn’t have the colour I wanted in the Olia range in boots). The end result is pictured below just after the dye and then two days later when it has been washed and I’m really happy with the result, not only do I prefer it to the orange but my boyfriend does too which is a bonus!

Final note – just because it worked for me doesn’t mean it will work for everyone. I have very thick hair so I can afford to play around with it a bit and not lose too much I wouldn’t recommend so many chemical treatments on fine or weak hair and cannot guarantee the results would be the same for everyone. I just wanted to share my story!

These were my lovely orange locks.
These were my lovely orange locks.
Here is the picture of me with black hair after the first dye. It made me look so much paler than the orange and I couldn't curl or style it as it was so dark!
Here is the picture of me with black hair after the first dye. It made me look so much paler than the orange and I couldn’t curl or style it as it was so dark!
The colour b4 I used is extra strength which is recommended for dark colours like blacks, reds and browns. It cannot guarantee to come back to your natural colour if you have bleached your hair in the past.
The colour b4 I used is extra strength which is recommended for dark colours like blacks, reds and browns. It cannot guarantee to come back to your natural colour if you have bleached your hair in the past.
result after using colour b4 the first night.
result after using colour b4 the first night.
The morning after not rinsing properly. A much darker result.
The morning after not rinsing properly. A much darker result.
The feria colour I applied first.
The feria colour I applied first.
the horrible stripy result of the feria colour on my hair after not following the correct colour b4 instructions.
the horrible stripy result of the feria colour on my hair after not following the correct colour b4 instructions.
Garnier Olia dye I applied first.
Garnier Olia dye I applied first.
Slightly patchy result of the Olia dye.
Slightly patchy result of the Olia dye.
Nutrisse intense copper red to brighten up the patchy areas.
Nutrisse intense copper red to brighten up the patchy areas.
The result after the Garnier Olia and Nutrisse mixed dye.
The result after the Garnier Olia and Nutrisse mixed dye.
This was two days after the final dye job and the first wash.
This was two days after the final dye job and the first wash.
Leave a Reply

