Book Review – The Final Seven by Erica Spindler 

  I’ve got a mixed bag of feelings about this one… 
I love Erica Spindler’s books. They’re always along the lines of either a crime thriller like her Stacy Killian novels and her romantic suspense novels which are usually a combination of creepy and thriller. 
This one was a bit different though. It had the crime thriller element of the Stacy Killian novels (she even makes a cameo appearance) and the creepiness of the romantic suspense. 

I still haven’t quite decided if I think that works… There’s elements to this book that I like, that I really like. But it almost feels like reading two different stories. One a crime novel for adults and the other a YA fantasy novel. Now these are my two favourite genres don’t get me wrong but do they work together. I’m still on the fence. 

I don’t think the characters were as engaging as they could have been. Zach often came across as week or dependent only on his looks to see him through life giving him a shallow appearance even when he was really being genuinely caring. Mick on the other hand was a cross between bimbo (referring to her own breast implants and ‘big rack’ more than once) and some hard hitting ladette. It was hard to come to a decision about her. I would have liked to have seen a bit more realism as well. There were elements of FBI conspiracy theory but not enough evidence given to support it. It felt unlikely to me that a police officer could be placed there with no training and it didn’t make sense to me why they wouldn’t just have trained them anyway… 

Overall I liked both storylines but feel they would have worked better as separate books. Nevertheless Erica’s excellent writing skills and ability to grip the reader enabled me to devour this book in one sitting and I have no doubt I’ll be checking out the next instalment upon its release in November. 

Leave a Reply

