Book review Meet Me In Manhattan by Claudia Carroll 

  Thank you to the publisher and Netgalley for my copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. 

I love authors like Marian Keyes and Cecelia Ahern and as I’d heard Claudia Carroll was a very similar author I couldn’t wait to get my teeth into this. 

I can’t say I was overly disapointed. Ms Carroll’s writing style for me was very different to the two aforementioned authors but that didn’t mean it wasn’t good. 

Overall I enjoyed the book. I think it could have got to the point a little quicker in some parts. On a number of occasions before a ‘big reveal’ I found myself skimming paragraphs because it just seemed to be taking so long to get to the point. The storyline itself was very strong though. 

The story is centred on Holly. Holly is desperate to find love and has resorted to dating sites to find it. When she gets talking to Captain Andy McCoy she can’t believe her luck. Everything about him is absolutely perfect. Too perfect maybe. 

Centred around the very modern concept of ‘catfishing’ but with a brilliant twist the author has very strong skills in that she turns it around from disaster to epic romance. The Christmas feel is really great as well and I found it quite symbolic the way Christmas was changed for Holly alongside her dating life. 

I enjoyed the Sparks of humour which were injected into the story and the fantastic descriptions of New York and particularly the architecture. 

A great novel to get you in the festive mood this season! 

Leave a Reply

