Writing challenge – day 8 – A book I love and one I didn’t 

Day 8 of the writing challenge is for me the toughest yet. I’m a big book lover and having read 1.3k books on my lifetime it’s a tough choice. I have lots of favourite books from lots of different genres so it’s been a really tough decision to decide on my absolute favourite! 

So I’ve decided to go for the book I’ve loved most that I’ve read this year. I’ve read 114 books this year so it still didn’t narrow down the choice that much! I decided to go with More Than This by Patrick Ness. It’s a crossover book which means it’s a suitable read for both children and adults although I’d say it was leading more towards teenagers than children. 

  

The book starts with a boy who is drowning. He dies but the he wakes again in a strange and yet familiar place. I don’t want to spoil the book as I’d definitely recommend reading it but it has all the ingredients of a twisty turny unputdownable book. I mean I literally couldn’t put it down I read it in the bathroom, in bed, at work and wherever and whenever else I could get an opportunity. It’s the first book I’ve read by Patrick Ness but it’s definitely made me want to read more. 

  

A book I didn’t like. Again there are several but I’ll take one I’ve read this year. From Notting Hill with Love Actually by Ali McNamara. Again a brand new author to me but with the opposite effect. I found the book really fake and it made it difficult to read, it was overly far fetched a woman obsessed with movies to the point she couldn’t survive or complete normal tasks or have normal relationships because of them. It was just ridiculous really…! Not to say that Ali is a bad writer or that others wouldn’t enjoy her book but for me I just couldn’t like it! 

Leave a Reply

