Writing challenge day 3 – your first love 

A first love is open to interpretation. In the case of the writing challenge I think it means the first boyfriend or girlfriend you had. The first person you fell ‘in’ love with. But I think there are many different first loves. So instead of talking about the obvious I’m going to discuss my other less conventional first loves. My very first love was and still is my mother. She carried me in her tummy for 9 months. She gave birth to me, fed me, bathed me, clothed me, nursed me, nurtured me and still does most of those things 25 years later! 

My first book love was the secret garden. I read and enjoyed many books before that but it was and still is one of the finest books I’ve ever read and reminds me always of my childhood and the sense of escape I first found in reading. 

My first puppy love was my little chihuahua Pablo who sadly passed away 3 years ago after an attack by another dog. Not a day goes by that I don’t think of him and how he charmed the pants off everyone he met. How he loved me more than anything else in the world. He showed me what a responsibility it is to be someone’s everything and to be loved and relied upon in that way. 

My first friend love was when I met Amy and Danielle only a year ago. Some friends come into our lives late on and these two girls although I don’t see them very often are always in touch, lift my spirits when I’m feeling down and remind me who I am. 

To go back to the conventional my first true love (not the half loves that came before him) remains my boyfriend Ged who makes me happy when I am sad, supports me in my life goals and has shown me what it is to be truly happy.  

One thought on “Writing challenge day 3 – your first love ”

Leave a Reply

